12 Comments
Apr 13Liked by David Armstrong

I’ve been primarily interested in your new testament commentaries, though, maybe it’s my age, but I find many of them too long. I’m not sure you are always imagining your audience correctly. Also, occasionally I discover new words by reading you, which rather surprises me after my years of classical education and years in the ministry. Still, every academic discipline does have its own vocabulary. I’m not sure who you are writing for, though I find many of your articles interesting.

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 15Liked by David Armstrong

Hey David -- Mostly wanted to respond to the first question, as throughout the months of reading I've had various thoughts of "I'd like to hear David talk about this" or "that's an interesting paragraph within this article, I'd like to hear more about that subject." So in no particular order, and with hopefully enough detail to be helpful, here're some topics I'd be interested in hearing you write about:

(1) Vedantic Christianity, (2) Myth (just generally as a subject--lots of places to go), (3) Sacrifice in the ancient world (e.g., I've always wondered when reading the NT's "don't eat meat sacrificed to idols" exactly what that practice of meat sacrificed to idols looked like, how it was understood religiously, and how long the practice has been a practice (Has man always felt a spiritual element to taking life in order to consume it?)), (4) Judaism, (5) 6th ecumenical council theology (namely, more about your thoughts on resolving the issues).

One last thing I thought would be interesting to hear your thoughts on: For those who find themselves, say, more "eclectic" orthodox, or "perennial" believers who live out a religious life and worship in the Christian context, one can sometimes feel a tension with the "pew" faith / "catechism" faith (for lack of a better term; not meant disparagingly). The reconciliation, to me, has been that so long as one can say the Creed honestly with the rest of the congregation, then communion remains. But of course, how one understands the details of the Creed when he confesses it can vary, and so I've long thought an interesting article idea would be to see all in one article a summary of the gloss you ascribe to each element of the Nicene Creed (e.g., when you confess that Jesus was born of the Virgin, what does that mean to you). The dispatch has of course discussed most of the elements at length already, but seeing it in summary view, all in one article, could be a nice reference piece and a springboard for navigating to the pieces where you've written in depth.

Anyway, keep doing what you're doing!

Expand full comment

1.) Which articles, topics, or discussions on APD catch your interest?

Considering the fact that I found this substack because of the podcasts with DBH and my main interest is Eastern Orthodox Christianity, what most interests me are the intellectual efforts to understand, as grounded in a sense of faithfulness as possible, how the mystical expressions and schools of thought of non-christian traditions could be 'embraced' in the same sense Platonic thought was embraced by Christian thought, but what interests me even more are the deep dives into how the essence of Eastern Orthodox spirit (as in, prevailing tendency) can enrich the human effort of seeking peace, but not as in this world currently. I've seen you just suggesting possible solutions, but maybe putting in the thought in order to get some possible alternatives to the current biased understanding, that would just be amazing. For an example in Eastern Orthodox creative dealing with valuable sacred principles, there is this Bradley Jersak paper on the Academia website that helps us understand the "holiness principles" of Paul as also including the LGBTQ+ community. That would ultimately be an universal (catholic) intellectual effort for the Church anyways.

With this occasion I would also like to remind you of the eternally outrageous optimism entailed within the Christian Spirit, of hope in the ruling out of current powers of ignorance, and to tell you that I would like you to add more weight in your judgment on that side of the scale, even if the first instinct of the gnomic will is to deny it as foolish, even if just for allowing the soul to have more nourishment 😌

2.) Which articles, topics, or discussions on APD don’t catch your interest?

Probably the more strictly historical critical parts, just bcs I like things salted with theological and creative insight, like any Origen descendent, lol.

3.) Which do you prefer—the current model, one short, free article and one longer, paid article a week, or a once-a-week model, mostly paid, occasionally free?

Eh, currently I don't have a stable income so as much free content as possible is appreciated, and maybe, tho it might be silly and I don't know how it can be practiced, to put a little synopsis of your paid article right at the beginning of the text, like what's the main meditation in it, so that in the email I receive of it, to get at least a new connection or a comprehensible idea to ponder on.

These are all very selfish responses of course, but I hope they weren't annoying to read. Peace :)

P.S. I don't know if we both share the same love for Hart's "You Are Gods", but I would love to see what an article inspired and about that book from you would look like. (If you've already done such a piece just kindly redirect me to it lol)

Expand full comment
Apr 13Liked by David Armstrong

As to Number 3, I am a subscriber, so rather than two articles a week I would rather have just one, the shorter one

Expand full comment
Apr 12Liked by David Armstrong

I've enjoyed most of your articles, especially the high concept ones on rebirth, cyclical time and evolution, and classical theism. I also really enjoyed the dives you did into various religions, especially the Zoroastrian series. The one off post on Sikh poetry and Dionysius was great too. I enjoy the commentary on sapientam series as that is one of my favorite books of the Bible. I've read less and less of the historical Jesus articles as time has gone on, but I really enjoyed the first few. The bibliography post was great, I love engaging with primary sources too after reading your analysis.

Expand full comment
Apr 12·edited Apr 12Liked by David Armstrong

I'll start:

1.) Which articles, topics, or discussions on APD catch your interest?

I have found myself interacting more with your articles that have some biographical content, but I think a lot of my desire to interact with the biographical articles comes from the interest built up in your more theoretical articles.

The more conceptual articles that catch my interest are usually the ones that deal with issues of history or theology that I am personally winding my way through. For example, your series on the resurrection and Jesus in history stands out to me. I have made personal copies of several of these and re-read them a few times. I like to mine your sources cited for more sustained engagement on these topics.

In my reading, these are more "popular" articles as opposed to "academic" - although I think most of your popular content would probably fly well overhead of most of the population. It could be interesting for you to take one of your more popular articles and even further "vulgarize" it - write it in 1000 words at a college freshman level and assume little-to-no theological training outside of a church environment.

2.) Which articles, topics, or discussions on APD don’t catch your interest?

I hate to say this, because from the look of things they are the articles that you put the most sweat into, but when I see long passages of untranslated Greek I won't make time to dig in. I am sure to be missing something.

Sometimes articles catch my interest, but end up being so long that I need to come back later, and then I forget to return.

3.) Which do you prefer—the current model, one short, free article and one longer, paid article a week, or a once-a-week model, mostly paid, occasionally free?

Paid or not, I like a mix of longer and shorter articles. Time dictates I will probably engage more with your shorter work than longer. And because I like your work I intend to keep paying for it regardless.

Expand full comment

I would just be a huge fan of more audio content (interviews, monologues… loved your digressions alone). I have to drive a lot every day for work so would get into anything audio. The AI reader embedded in substack is pretty rough going when you actually want to follow along as closely as possible to the argument you are making (which I do!)

Expand full comment